Healing Seminar: For people who have left abusive churches

I would like to gauge how much interest there is in attending a weekend retreat. The topic of the retreat would be: How to heal from spiritual abuse when leaving a fundamentalist sect (or cult). We would organize it for three locations: Nashville, Minneapolis and Dallas.

skyWhat people have found is that if they can get together and share their stories there is so much healing that can happen. A therapist told me today that when people leave strict religious groups that they experience PTSD. It is important for people with PTSD to talk to people who have been through the same experiences.

The retreat would be led by myself and two experienced seminar leaders, two of us are therapists. There would be opportunities to do artwork expressing your journey. There would be some workshops to talk about the major methods of manipulation and spiritual abuse in these kinds of churches. There would be time to share our stories of what happened to us and where we are in our journeys. We might even do some skits to illustrate the kinds of manipulation we have been through.

One of the healing things about these seminars is that we get to experience respect from those leading the seminars, something we did not experience in the churches we left. We get to be understood for the trauma we have been through, and we get to express our opinions in an atmosphere of give and take, rather than an atmosphere of pre-judgement and threat.

Leave a comment or email me if you are interested.

About Mark

I was raised in the conservative non-institutional churches of Christ and attended Florida College in Tampa, Florida. I served as a minister for 8 years in the non-institutional churches of Christ, and 4 years at a mainline church of Christ in Vermont.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Healing Seminar: For people who have left abusive churches

  1. garycummings says:

    Let’s talk. Nashville is 8 hours from my house.

  2. Kathy says:

    This is too much! My goodness!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. SteveA says:

    Sounds wonderful. I wish you would come to the Memphis area. Thanks

  4. Ladyglutter (Teresa Chandler) says:

    I’m interested. Depends on money and timing…

  5. Rob says:

    I have no idea how we could swing it financially, but my wife and I need to attend. We are young ex church planters that are coming out of a manipulative co-planting experience…and in great need of a Christ based healing retreat. We are wrestling with our marriage and faith due to this terrible experience. 😦

  6. Dorothy says:

    I would be interested in coming to the Nashville area for such an event.

  7. DoOrDoNot says:

    My husband and I might be interested. We are in Memphis so Nashville would work. I know there are many in Memphis in therapy for this very thing. I wish it was easier to find each other to make these resources available. I am a psychologist as well so Id be happy to pass the word on the network of therapists I know. Thanks for exploring this.

  8. Ashes says:

    Sadly, those places are too far from my house. This blog is so encouraging for me. It has only been a week since I have officially declared myself ex-church of Christ, but I am already much happier that I no longer feel a need to please the people who are impossible to please. Thank you, Mark!

  9. garycummings says:

    There is an ex-church of christ group on facebook.
    it the called The Exers: an Ex Church of Christ Community
    Check it out. We have 109 members and 4 administrators.
    Thanks, Gary Cummings

Please limit comments to 500 words per day or they may be reduced by the editor.

