My friend died

A friend of mine died recently, killed by a drunk driver fleeing the police. She was 43. We weren’t very close, I only saw her three times last year. So I was surprised by how strong my grief was. We used to spend every Tuesday night together, in a small writers’ group. She helped me with my writing.
It has struck me recently that the people I know may be connected in stronger ways than I was aware. My friend had several faults that were irritating, but she also had several positive attributes that she used to encourage those around her.
So I’ve decided that my faults, which tend to discourage me and dissuade me from putting my neck out there, are not going to prevent me from encouraging those around me. I want those around me to be successful and encouraged. I want them to experiment and take risks. I want them not to give up. Thank you, Kaye, for helping me realize that.

About Mark

I was raised in the conservative non-institutional churches of Christ and attended Florida College in Tampa, Florida. I served as a minister for 8 years in the non-institutional churches of Christ, and 4 years at a mainline church of Christ in Vermont.
This entry was posted in Psychology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Please limit comments to 500 words per day or they may be reduced by the editor.

